An education agent may charge service fees. Study Australia also states that some education agents are paid by education providers to recommend them. Its guidance does not state any fee amount or provide a complete list of charge types, so readers should not assume there is a standard price.
What should readers compare?
When evaluating agents, readers should distinguish between any service fee the agent states and any payment an education provider makes to the agent.
Study Australia advises contacting several agents and comparing their service fees. Each agent should be asked:
- What service fees does it charge?
- Is the agent also paid by an education provider to recommend that provider?
- What amounts and payment terms apply?
- Are any fees refundable, and under what conditions?
The guidance does not say that provider payment eliminates all fees charged directly to students. That point therefore needs confirmation rather than assumption.
What does the guidance not establish?
The cited material does not specify a standard or maximum fee. It also does not provide fee calculations, payment deadlines, refund rules or contract terms. Readers must confirm those details directly with the agent and, where relevant, the education provider before agreeing to pay.
The safest conclusion is limited but useful: service fees may apply, and some agents receive payment from providers for recommendations. The exact financial arrangement is not established by the cited guidance and should be compared in writing.